The greatest definition of love

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

1 Corinthians 13:1-13

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. online dating for singles
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 16:59:54

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your
    favorite reason seemed to be on the web the easiest thing to be
    aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked
    while people think about worries that they just
    do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon
    the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

    Reply

  2. Trackback: My Homepage
  3. myblog
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 10:22:20

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources
    back to your website? My blog site is in the exact
    same area of interest as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from
    a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this okay
    with you. Many thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

free web site traffic and promotion

T-Shirts ‘n Other Stuff

© Sylvia Van Peebles and Sylvia's Thoughts Online, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Sylvia Van Peebles and Sylvia's Thought Online with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
JustMy2Cents

What I think, but with muscle.

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Aussie Conservative Blog

Paleoconservative opinion

Scorched Earth News

Where The Establishment is Roasted

WEB OF DEBT BLOG

ARTICLES IN THE NEWS . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . COMMENTS, FEEDBACK, IDEAS

The Truther Store

Tools for Civilized Disobedience

